594.25 To Go!

Standard

It’s official: I SURVIVED THE FIRST DAY OF MY INTERNSHIP!

For obvious reasons, I won’t go into details about what I am doing, but I can tell you that I am interning at a hospital rotating among three different units.

Most of my first day involved observation of clinicians and fellow interns, but I was also afforded the opportunity to participate somewhat. Me. On the verge of conducting actual counseling.

As I have mentioned in prior posts, I have really been working this year on stepping outside of my comfort zone. In 2013 alone, I may have leaped outside of my comfort zone more times than in my entire life! This experience is by far the biggest leap I have taken.

I was beyond nervous this weekend, but I was able to pick a fellow intern’s brain about random questions most normal people probably wouldn’t dream of. Nevertheless, with a little bit of prayer and a lot of preparation, I made it through. Whew!

There may be 594.25 hours to go, but what matters right now is that I dove head-first into the experience and came out alive! πŸ˜‰ I am so blessed to have been accepted as an intern at this hospital, and I am truly looking forward to the learning experiences and opportunities this internship will afford me.

Well, I’m off to bed, as I have my first group supervision experience tomorrow at 8:00 a.m. sharp! I just wanted to keep up my resolve of posting at least every other day. Ta ta!

P.S. What was the last thing you did that really pushed you outside of your comfort zone?

Leave a Reply

