From Runner to Runner

Standard

As a runner, as a future counselor, as a Christian, as an American, and most importantly, as a human being, what has happened in Boston is absolutely breaking my heart.

I know that I should turn off the news and stop Googling the latest updates, but it seems that every minute some vital new piece of the story is revealed.

I was just finishing my elliptical workout and cleaning my machine when Ian called. I wasn’t expecting to hear from him at 4:15 because he had an exam scheduled for 3:40. He said, “Have you seen what’s happening in Boston?” in this strange, something-isn’t-quite-right tone. I said, “No…” and he went on to tell me about the bombings at the finish line of the Boston Marathon.

Maybe my mind is totally in the wrong place right now, but I can’t help but think about the tragedy of where the bombings occurred: at the finish line. Just as these individuals were on the verge of crossing the finish line, after running 26.2 grueling miles, they were thwarted in the most horrible way.

In the hours and days ahead, as more and more victims are identified, news stations and the Obama administration will reveal the details of who is responsible for this horrific attack and why. Until that time, I have so many thoughts…

God, I know that you work in mysterious and often misunderstood ways, but why children?

Who in the hell could commit such an atrocity?

Mr. President, why dance around the word terrorist for political reasons? It was a bombing that has killed and injured many, many people. Let’s call it WTF it is.

No matter who did this and why, I am reminded again of how poverty-stricken this nation is with regard to access to mental health care services.

I am so tired of hearing the words “al Qaeda.”

My sincerest thoughts and prayers go out to the victims, families, friends, survivors, runners, bystanders, acquaintances, military personnel, safety officers, and every other individual even remotely affected by this tragedy.

From runner to runner, God be with you.

Leave a Reply

