Lackluster 10k Training

Standard

So, I’m running (running being the questionable word here) the Monument Avenue 10k in Richmond this coming Saturday. Last May, when I was preparing to run my first-ever 5k, I trained for 12 weeks. That may seem excessive, but that training program was one of the most disciplined and challenging fitness experiences I’ve ever had.

I ran a 5k in October and another one in January, and I didn’t officially train for either one. Dad and I were able to cross the finish line of all three, running the entire time. Ever since my first 5k, that’s been my ultimate goal. In January, we even worked on improving our personal best time because we were confident we could run the whole thing.

This time around, though, I haven’t “trained” much at all. I went through a strength-training phase that lasted a few weeks, during which all I wanted to do was lift weights, practice lunges, and work on my core. I gained noticeable muscle definition and strength (don’t worry about your jaw dropping to the floor–I’m no Adonis), but my stamina didn’t improve whatsoever.

Usually, I’m all about cardio, but I tend to lean toward the elliptical.

In short, I’m not prepared for this 10k because I’ve been a bit lazy in the gym. A typical week in workouts looks like this:

Monday: strength-training session (30 minutes)
Tuesday: long-distance treadmill run (35-50 minutes)
Wednesday: elliptical workout (30-60 minutes)
Thursday: strength-training session (30 minutes)
Friday: zero
Saturday: zilch
Sunday: nada

I feel accomplished with a workout week like this, but it doesn’t help in terms of race preparation.

I’ve had several people tell me that the excitement on every block, the music pumping, and the spectators cheering helps runners not notice the distance of this particular race. Being that I’ve never surpassed 5 miles, I’m not so sure…

This week, I’m planning to run several days, do a bit of strength training to help my knees absorb the impact of running on concrete, and rest at least 36 hours prior to the race.

To say that I’m nervous about this race would be inaccurate. I’m more so excited and even a little bit anxious to see whether Dad and I can run the entire thing. Our goal is to finish in 70 minutes, though with 40,000+ participants, I’m not sure how we’ll fare even though we’re set to begin with other people running our pace.

Wish us luck! …just don’t tell us to break a leg 😉

P.S. If you’re going to be at the race this weekend, let me know! Oh, and if you have advice about running a 10k or about training for future races, I’d love to hear it!

Leave a Reply

