I Just Feel GOOD

Standard

It probably seems like I haven’t been blogging as much as I used to. Well, that’s because I haven’t. If I thought my weekends out-of-town were busy before, I had another think coming. Most of the time, though, I just don’t have anything blog-worthy going on.

But, I’m feelin’ great today, and I want to shout it from the mountaintops!

I feel great. Like, really great. It has nothing to do with finally being able to breathe again, or my allergies having left as quickly as they came. I feel so great because of my lifestyle.

Two of my proudest accomplishments are my refrigerator and my ability to run more than a mile. (I’m still no marathoner — 5 miles is my max thus far.)

When I look in my fridge (and my pantry) and I see Greek yogurt, an abundance of fresh vegetables, seasonal fruit, whole-grain bread, water, salmon, quinoa, chia seeds… it makes my heart smile.

DSCN0250

DSCN0251

DSCN0253

It wasn’t all that long ago (well, I guess it was about 2.5 years) that I could easily fill a grocery cart by myself with frozen entrees, Toaster Strudels, Pop-Tarts, Doritos, Cherry Coke, Easy Mac, breakfast biscuits, TGI Friday’s appetizers, pints of Ben & Jerry’s… you get the idea. I’ve detailed my experience with unhealthy living before, so I won’t get into it. The point is, my changes feel great!

It also wasn’t too long ago that I couldn’t “run” more than about 10 minutes without getting winded and crampy. I’m not saying I was morbidly obese or anything, but I was desperately in need of a lifestyle overhaul. Boy, oh, boy, how things have changed! Three 5ks down, and a 10k and a 5k coming up? Who woulda thunk it? 😉

[I know this post has become a bit of a brag-fest, but I just want to share my happiness with y’all!]

I’m also not saying that my body looks exactly the way I want it to or that I’m satisfied with having lost 35 pounds and I’m done. What I am saying is that completely altering my diet and developing an exercise regimen has allowed me to live the life I want to be living, with the energy and the mental well-being to keep up!

Well, that being said, I’m off to class in the middle of a freak April… snow?

DSCN0246

Have a good one, blends!

Leave a Reply

