Cruisin’, Boozin’, and Schmoozin’

Standard

Heya, blends!!

DSCN0170

I sure have missed blogging! I took a bit of a lengthy blog sabbatical. Longer than I intended, actually. The weekend prior to the cruise was a whirlwind of planning, packing, and pandemonium. Ian’s parents were in town, plus we crammed the day before we departed chock-full of fun. If you had told me I’d tour a reception venue, go out to lunch, run around Maymont Park tossing a football and enjoying the rarity of all of the animals being out, grab dinner, and cheer on the Richmond Spiders on Senior Night all before a 5:15 a.m. wake-up call… I would have laughed in your face.

Now that we’re back, I can fill you in on deets! Sunday, we drove from Richmond to Jacksonville, FL, which took about 10 hours with stops. (I’d forgotten that one of the luxuries of driving a small car is that it doesn’t cost both arms and both legs to fill up…)

Monday morning, we were up at the absurd hour of 4:30 for the second leg of our journey to Miami. I can’t even describe the feeling of stepping out of the car into shorts-weather and sunshine, especially after the pre-break snowstorm. We finally boarded the Majesty of the Seas about 12:30 — and we headed straight for the food!

From there, it was fun, sun, and a LOT of adult beverages for four days. We were in Nassau on Tuesday, Coco Cay (Royal Caribbean’s privately-owned island) Wednesday,

DSCN0167

DSCN0172

and one of my favorite places in the world Thursday: Key West!

DSCN0184

DSCN0187

DSCN0190

It was back to Miami — and back to reality — come Friday. But we couldn’t have concluded Spring Break without passing through downtown Savannah to celebrate St. Patty’s Day with two of our favorite people, Alan and James!

I’ll spare you the minute details of every activity we did, but here are some thoughts I jotted down poolside throughout the week at sea:

Was I ever that douchey as an undergrad?

DSCN0148

Am I really seasick for the first time in 24 years? (Luckily, it was fleeting, and probably cheap champagne-induced.)

DSCN0159

Beer for $6 apiece? Make it two. Or five.

DSCN0160

I feel more comfortable wearing a two-piece than I have in about a decade.

DSCN0161

Bed at 9:30? Don’t mind if I do!

DSCN0175

Ian is the only other person I know on this entire vessel, and I don’t hate that fact.

DSCN0178

I’m not even people-watching; I’m people-judging.

DSCN0179

We would kick ass at the Love & Marriage Game Show.

DSCN0188

Are there really sharks swarming around out there?

DSCN0189

Of course it’s raining on our only real beach day…

DSCN0191

Even on a luxury cruise, we still have to call maintenance. Go figure.

DSCN0192

How ironic is it that the ship featured in Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked is the Carnival Dream? #suckstosuck

DSCN0195

(Would it make me an idiot or a bargain-hunter to try to book a Carnival cruise for next Spring Break…?)

DSCN0196

Mojitos sure do make me thirsty… for more mojitos!

T-minus 51 weeks until next Spring Break…

Spotting 42 states represented on license plates (plus Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, and Ontario) is pretty impressive, if you ask me.

I’m fairly certain most of the greens I consumed came in the form of lime and mint.

That’s all, folks! 😉

DSCN0162

Leave a Reply

