2,013 in 2013

Standard

This is probably a cliché notion, but then again, I don’t Google blog post topics to see how many others have written about what I’m considering before I allow my thoughts to go public.

In 2013, I’m going to “travel” 2,013 miles. I use the word travel instead of the word run because I’m going to incorporate various modes of exercise into my mileage: running, spinning, elliptical-ing(?), swimming, etc. This averages out to about 5.5 miles per day. Currently (on average), I run about 3.5 miles at a pop, I hit the elliptical for 4, I spin for 5 or 6, and I swim for one. Meaning that I’m rarely making my mark of 5.5 miles per day. That doesn’t matter to me. What matters to me is keeping my eyes on the prize and having a long-term goal in mind. I don’t know about you, but my inner fitnessista works so much more productively when she has something to which she’s looking forward.

I initiated my goal this morning with a hearty helping of No Exercise with side dishes of I’m Too Tired and The Gym Will Be Overrun So What’s the Point. Bear ye in mind — this is not a New Year’s resolution. It’s a goal for the year. I’m not resolving to travel 5.5 miles per day; I’m resolving to bear this goal in mind when I’m working out. If I fulfill this goal, it will be one of my grandest life achievements; if not, I’ve only gained (strength, finesse, technique, skill) and lost (weight, poor habits, fitness ruts).

I “traveled” 399.45 miles in 2012, not including swimming mileage. I accomplished less than 20 percent in 2012 of what I’ll need to travel in 2013. Of course, there will be days when I’m under the weather, days when exercise won’t fit (logically) into my schedule, and days when I simply will not feel like going to the gym. However, there will also be more races I will enter, more challenges I will set for myself, and more pounds shed than in 2012 on my continuous journey in pursuit of healthy and holistic living.

I don’t care that my goal is lofty, and I don’t care that it may be albeit impossible. I don’t normally set my sights so high (i.e. set myself up for failure), but in this case, it’s a win-win! I’m simply positive you have a burning desire to read updates and that you’re as eager about this as I am, so I’ll keep you posted on my progress 😉

I hope you had a fantastic New Year’s Eve and that you closed out 2012 with a bang! I certainly did!

What is one of your goals for 2013?

2 responses »

  1. This is a great idea. I may have to steal it for myself. You’ve made me want to track my miles…so, since I did not work out today (don’t ask) I’ll begin with a fresh mileage journal tomorrow.

    • Great idea! I’ve been tracking my workouts in an Excel document for about 2 years now, and it is helpful in soo many different ways! It keeps me accountable, for one thing.

Leave a Reply

