Veggie Delight Dinner

Standard

This morning, Mom and I were trying to decide what we should have for dinner tonight before she and Dad headed out to VCU’s winter concert. Oh, what am I up to, you ask? Well, I stayed home tonight to complete my very last assignment of the semester — a take-home exam. It enthralls me to no end to miss family events in order to complete schoolwork. Please note my sarcasm here. Truth be told, the exam will be available today through next Friday; I’m just that type-A nerd who can’t wait to get it over with!

Anywho…

We decided on roasted brussels sprouts, baked sweet potato “chips,” and popcorn shrimp! The shrimp required zero effort, but I’m excited to tell you about the special way we prepared the sprouts and the sweet potatoes.

Parmesan Roasted Brussels Sprouts
1. Rinse brussels sprouts and remove tough stems.
2. Slice “thinly.”
3. Toss sprouts with 2 tbsp. olive oil, 1/8 tsp. thyme, 1 clove minced garlic, and salt and pepper to taste.
4. Spread the sprouts evenly throughout a large glass baking dish.
5. Roast for 20 minutes on 450°.
6. Toss with 2 tsp. red wine vinegar and coarsely grated Parmesan cheese.
7. Serve!
100_2154
Baked Sweet Potato Chips
1. Rinse and peel two large sweet potatoes.
2. Slice thinly.
3. Melt margarine and whisk thoroughly with brown sugar to form a thin sauce.
4. Drizzle potatoes with sauce.
5. Bake on 425° for 20 minutes.
6. Serve!
100_2155
As my mom and I were meandering through Ukrop’s today, I said to her, “You know, I think I’m more interested in vegetables now than when I was a vegetarian.” Thankfully, my immediate family is very into eating well. One of my cardinal meal rules is to try to fill my plate with fifty percent veggies. I’d say tonight’s dinner fit the bill 🙂 Man, am I stuffed!

100_2157

Leave a Reply

