Thursday Thrills #2

Standard

I’m back, with Thursday Thrills, episode two! Today, I want to share with y’all some things I’ve been loving recently.

The first is a blog. It’s more than a blog, really; it’s an emotional, inspiring, candid storybook overflowing with personal details, intimacies, hard truths, and pure, unadulterated honesty. It is quite literally the best blog I have ever found, and I feel like I’m getting to know a new friend when I read Dan’s stuff. Please, check out Single Dad Laughing. It may make you laugh, it may make you cry, it may make you angry… but it will definitely make you think. Personally, I’ve been inspired simply by the way Dan writes to be more frank in my writing. I’m thrilled beyond words that you’re reading, but I began the blog for me, so it’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to. Capiesh?

Secondly, I’m loving Breaking Bad. I’m midway through season 4 on Netflix, and I don’t know what I’m going to do when I run out of episodes. Ian kept pestering me about checking it out. He’s never even seen it! I gotta say, his plot summary of “It’s about a high school teacher who makes meth” was sensationally underwhelming — and not cause for me to jump up and run for the television. Now, I’m hooked. Pun intended?

My third thrill is the amount of positivity on social media. As much as I occasionally enjoy crazily stalking tanorexics from high school and deranged exes on others’ Facebooks, I’ve never had the desire to create my own page. I guess I’m mainly referring to the Twittersphere, because I don’t do Pinterest, Tumblr, LinkedIn, Stumble Upon, or any of that other jazz. Maybe it’s because the election is finally over, or maybe it’s because people’s semesters are drawing to a close, but I’m really sensing a great deal of positive energy. Normally around the holidays, I read and quickly grow weary of people’s Tweets about their whacked-out in-laws and their dreaded holiday parties, so this year is a refreshing change of pace 😉

Fourth, Home Alone. For the past three nights, I’ve watched the first 30-45 minutes of Home Alone as I snuggled under my covers. The same parts never cease to make me laugh, and they’re sometimes not even key parts. This is one of my all-time favorites:

I’ve gotten myself into the terrible habit of needing the television on to fall asleep. If you’re like me — though I can guarantee that you’re not — and you have a 13-inch monster with a built-in VHS player, your movies rewind and eject themselves, and the TV turns itself off. I swear by it, I will not throw out this brick of a machine until it flat-out dies. I paid for it in cash at Circuit City the summer after 7th grade… I’m really dating myself here. Circuit City?

Bear with me on this one. My apartment complex has begun a program called Poo Prints because evidently some doggie-owners aren’t cleaning up their biznass. I literally laughed out loud, by myself, in my apartment, when I received the notice. Now, I don’t have a dog, but I read — and thoroughly enjoyed — the entire memo. Each dog-owner is required to make an appointment with the leasing office to have his dog’s cheek swabbed for a DNA sample. The samples will be sent off to a lab, which will send back a registry bank of all dogs in the complex. Thereafter, if somebody’s biznass is found around the neighborhood, it will be analyzed (immediately I wondered, by whom?) and compared to the DNA samples. When the “owner” of the poop is identified, he or she will be fined like $300 for the first offense, leading up to possible lease termination for the third or fourth offense. I’ll be honest, I cannot wait to see this plan in action. When my family had a dog, I wasn’t always honest the best about picking up his… treats, but my apartment complex even has a fenced-in exercise area for dogs, with little poo-baggy stations all around the complex. When it’s that easy, how lazy do you have to be to not give a shit?

Lastly, I’m loving Ian.

He’s pretty… special. As flattering as this picture is (please, try not to swoon over what appears to be our faces morphing into one) he’s a great dude. He’s been by my side through thick and thin (and very thin), and his unwavering faith in our relationship has gotten us through some serious stuff. I’ll grant you that he’s a terrible listener, and it irritates me to no end that he runs the dishwasher with 3 or 4 items in it because he’s “not paying for the water,” but the reasons I love him and the reasons why we’re perfect for each other are immeasurable. I’ve never been a believer in soulmates, but he’s bringing me around to the notion 😉 After all, there’s got to be some reason I would stay with a guy for three years who licked my face…

Have a thrilling Thursday, my blends!

P.S. If anyone can tell me how to make a YouTube video loop, I’d be forever grateful! #TechnologyFail

3 responses »

  1. Okay, maybe not crazy about the face-licking part, but can definitely relate to the rest. I too am a Home Alone fan. I adore Harry and “Mahv.” I also love the part about the DNA testing for dogs! Hmmm. Maybe I should offer that as a suggestion in my neighborhood newsletter. R

Leave a Reply

