The Meal-Planning Queen

Standard

One of my favorite things about being home is getting to choose what we eat. It’s the simple pleasures in life, my blends 😉 This privilege comes with the pleasure of accompanying my mom to her favorite grocery store in the world, which I’m convinced she single-handedly keeps in business: Ukrop’s (a.k.a. Martin’s). This usually leads to needless purchases to satiate a curious daughter obsessed with food and experimenting with recipes, but I don’t hear too much protesting…

Tonight, for instance, I chose turkey burgers topped with sautéed onions and Havarti cheese on whole wheat buns, acorn squash, and wilted spinach salad with warm poppy seed dressing. What a feast!

Warm poppy seed dressing (for a crowd):
1 tsp dry mustard
1/3 C apple cider vinegar
1 C vegetable oil
1 tsp poppy seeds
1/2 C sugar
Whisk all ingredients thoroughly. Microwave for 30 seconds; whisk again briskly. Microwave again for 30 seconds. Ladle over baby spinach, dried cranberries, sliced almonds, sliced red onion, and bacon bits. Allow time for spinach to wilt before serving.

On tomorrow’s menu: seafood pizza (Ukrop’s seafood salad topped with thinly sliced Havarti cheese on whole wheat pizza shells) and green beans

Wednesday: kielbasa sausage, sauerkraut, and broccoli

Thursday, of course, I shall feast until I can feast no more! Thanksgiving is my favorite “food” holiday of the entire year, followed very closely by Christmas.

I don’t know yet what we’re planning to have Friday, but I absolutely can’t wait to share with you what we’re having Saturday — stay tuned for another awesome recipe, borrowed from a fellow blogger! 🙂

One response »

Leave a Reply

