Amy and Her Soup

Standard

When I was still an undergrad, I went home for a holiday break and my mom surprised me with some vegetarian soups she had found for me. (In case you didn’t know, I was a vegetarian — technically a lacto-ovo-pescetarian — for nearly 10 years until fairly recently.) I was always really excited about new vegetarian products; I still am, in fact. My personal favorite was my mom’s find of meatless hotdogs! Anyway, she told me about an entire line of organic, vegetarian soups called Amy’s. Well, I tried a few of the varieties, but none of the soups really appealed to me. See, even though I wasn’t eating meat, I was eating plenty of French bread pizza, Doritos, Ben & Jerry’s, and Pop-Tarts. Pure collegiate nutrition. I didn’t like Amy’s soups because they didn’t fill me up as completely as fatty, carb-y foods did. Basically, I let the cans collect dust on the back row of the pantry. Probably the best thing I ever did with those soups was donate them to a women’s shelter in Farmville as part of the admission cost of getting into an a capella concert at Ian’s school. Don’t get me wrong — I felt guilty for readily handing over the soups my mom had located specifically for me, but I sure as hell wasn’t going to eat them.

However, on one of my massive and unnecessary shopping sprees trips to Wal-Mart, I ran across Amy’s frozen entrées a few months later. I grew particularly fond of the tofu stir-fry bowls (Teriyaki Bowl) and the dairy-free microwaveable burritos. I tried some of the more exotic dishes, like the Indian Mattar Paneer entrée and the Mexican Casserole Bowl, but they didn’t sit very well with me. To be honest, I wasn’t too open to trying foods I had never heard of.

It’s strange how things come full-circle sometimes.

Here I am, two or three years later, glad for Amy’s soups in my pantry. When I picked these up on a whim last week at Kroger, I wasn’t even sure why. I’m always on the lookout for quick and easy meal options with as few processed ingredients as possible. In fact, the fewer ingredients the better. For example, this is the skinny on Amy’s Organic Light in Sodium Low-Fat Butternut Squash Soup:

(Source)

Still not knowing fully why I chose to purchase the very soups I claimed not to have been able to swallow a few years ago, I decided to do some research. The company, “Amy’s,” was begun in 1987 when Amy, the daughter of Andy and Rachel, was born. Both Andy and Rachel had been long invested in natural and organic family farming. Rachel is the company’s official “taster,” as well as the design artist for the company’s logos and product packaging, while Andy helps manage the marketing and sales aspects. I found that what began as a way for two new parents to fuel their daughter with fresh, local, organic foods has grown into a worldwide company known for its commitment to quality ingredients, personal relationships with customers and the Amy’s team, and health-conscious foods consumers can trust (source). Amy’s is committed to purchasing the freshest local ingredients possible (including hormone-free dairy from grass-fed cows), and cooking them as you would in your own home. Everything is made by hand, prepared in stages, and allowed to cook slowly until it reaches its fullest flavor (source).

I may have mentioned just a few times before that I’m not into calorie-counting or restricting, so by doing a little research on Amy’s, I found out several awesome things: I’m getting a tremendous amount of bang for my buck. Amy’s products are a little more pricey than some of the big-name soup companies, but the ingredient list makes my insides smile 😉 I also feel like I’m investing in a company that has its customers’ best interests at heart (and stomach!). After playing around for awhile on the very user-friendly company website, I realized that my lifestyle and my general diet are in line with what Amy’s aspires to do. I’m definitely going to give Amy’s products another try. Why not?

Have you ever tried any Amy’s products? I really encourage you to check out the site!

2 responses »

  1. I love a lot of Amy Organic products out there, especially the organic, gluten-free pizza that I have every couple months; glad you’re enjoying the soup they offer:))

Leave a Reply

