Love Thyself

Standard

Yesterday afternoon, I was a bit of a Debbie Downer, as I tweeted:

One of my sorority sisters, Colleen, reminded me to take a break, turn off the TV, and do something fun in the name of self-care. And ya know what?

She’s exactly right.

I had been glued to the boob tube all. day. long. Watching the flood warnings, highway closings, and waves lapping at homes and businesses was fascinating, of course, but I wasn’t doing myself any favors. Somehow, I slipped from watching for “updates” to watching for the sake of watching. I also slid from a carefree state about the impending storm to a state of filling every large container I could find with water, and rushing around in pursuit of D batteries.

That’s when I knew it was time to get up and get moving. I dragged my butt from the couch to the gym and hit the elliptical. Not only did I feel great physically afterward, I cleared my head of stress and anxiety.

Later, because, you know, I wanted to revisit that stressful state, I ventured out in the rain and frenzied traffic because I “needed” wine. Karma is legit, my blends; I stood clutching my wine as the panicked woman in line in front of me narrated her life story — in storm survival tales — as she unloaded an unnecessary number of loaves of garlic bread from her cart. I suppose Kroger wasn’t enough of a challenge for me, because I drove out to one of the city’s busiest roads for Chick-Fil-A.

The take-home lesson from yesterday’s adventures: it is apparent that Hurricane Sandy could not have been weathered without a Chick’n Strips Salad, Barefoot, or the company of a great friend 🙂

The second take-home lesson: Colleen was exactly right. Self-care cannot be neglected. Do something for you today. Read a chapter of a book. Light a fire in the fireplace and enjoy a quiet cup of cocoa. Complete a workout circuit you enjoy. Fill the tub up with scenty bubbles and relax.  Work on a craft or project you haven’t had time for. Whatever you do today, make sure you include self-care!

P.S. I hope y’all stayed safe and dry during Sandy’s wrath!

Leave a Reply

