“Frankenstorm” Weekend

Standard

I can’t say I’ve done a lot to prepare for the dreaded Hurricane Sandy. Maybe I’m taking a laissez-faire approach, but I’m not one of these Doomsdayers who feels it necessary to literally run through the grocery store as though the last gallon of water or the last ten boxes of saltines will evaporate in nanoseconds. I did stock up on some essentials — non-perishable sandwich-making materials, bottled water, non-dairy milk, TP — though I seriously regret my decision to try Kroger at 5 p.m.

In other news… Friday was pretty dull around these parts. The most exciting part of my day included a glass of moscato and tucking into bed at 11:00 after reading a chapter of a new book.

Saturday was a different story…

I met my sister and two of her sorority sisters in Farmville to grab some lunch before the Hampden-Sydney football game. I am truly ashamed of the amount of fast-food I consumed this weekend. It may not appear that way…

…but Sheetz, McDonald’s (where I found a literal fly in an ice cube), and Taco Bell don’t sit as well with me anymore. It’s not that fast-food joints don’t offer healthy-ish alternatives; it’s that I eat fast-food so rarely, I don’t usually choose a salad with light dressing over a crispy chicken club. Ya dig?

The game was an absolute blowout against Guilford, with the final score being 68-24. We celebrated heartily, my blends.

“What the hell is a ‘sorority squat’?!”

This morning, after little more than 5 hours of sleep, I was reminded that perhaps graduating from college should include not returning to your pseudo-alma mater in order to partake in fraternal activities. Alas, it seems I may never learn 😉

As soon as I stuffed a pumpkin doughnut and a Shmuffin in my face and drove home, my agenda read like this:
1. Nap
2. End of agenda

The rest of my afternoon pretty much consisted of sipping tea, sucking on cough drops, and half-heartedly watching a movie. As Sandy approaches, I guess it’s time to put my Big Girl Pants back on and act like a grown-up.

I hope your weekend was spectacular! I’d love your suggestions, comments, and questions about the new site! I’m still adjusting the layout and some of the content, so please feel free.

P.S. Have you done any hurricane prep? I’ve gathered my flashlights and my candles, which is about as prepared as I can be in an apartment building.

One response »

Leave a Reply

